The much anticipated Facebook Livestream is here. This feature was previously available to users with verified accounts, but due to the endless one-upping between the technology giants, it’s now available to everyone!
So here’s how to start a live broadcast from your personal Timeline:
- Log into the Facebook for iOS app or the Facebook for Android app
- Tap the Publish icon for your News Feed or Timeline
- Tap on new Livestream icon
- Write an optional description from your broadcast
- Tap Go Live to begin your broadcast
And viola! When you want to end your broadcast simply tap Finish.
What’s great about the broadcast is that you’ll see the number of live viewers, the names of friends who are watching and a rea-time stream of comments. According to the people at Facebook, your broadcast can be no longer than 30 minutes. Probably because Facebook has over 1.31 billion mobile active users and that number keeps increasing 23 percent year-over-year. We believe this is going to be a problem for most users since Periscope currently does not limit their broadcasts.
Like anything else on the internet, don’t believe the lies, your broadcast lives forever. When you end your broadcast, it’ll stay on your Timeline like any other video. But don’t worry, you can always “hide” the video or delete it. But it never really gets deleted – ever. I’ll expand on this in a future blog. I suggest subscribing to our Newsletter (below) to receive great business and technology tips.
Don’t worry ladies! Facebook gives you the option to block that weird stalker guy. You can block viewers during a live broadcast by tapping the profile picture next to a viewer’s comments and then tapping Block. If you have a change of heart, just simply unblock someone that you’ve previously blocked.
Subscribe to our Newsletter